CT State provides several opportunities to pursue language study in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Russian and Spanish. During the placement process, you'll be directed into appropriate language and culture courses based on the completion of the Languages and Cultures questionnaire, a placement test (if applicable) AND an initial advising session with a faculty or staff advisor.

Placement Measures


The Languages and Cultures placement process is comprised of an online brief survey and a series of multiple-choice questions that take about twenty minutes to complete. The Emmersion Test is used to determine proficiency level in a language other than English and is only for course placement. The scores and language background data will be used to place you into appropriate level of language study you wish to pursue an appropriate course level. This test is not intended for, nor does it award college credit. To schedule a test, complete a Languages and Cultures questionnaire

Please Note:
Placement in Arabic, Japanese and Polish must be determined by other measures. See the "Alternative Measures" section below or contact the campus offering the course for additional information.

Chinese 

SCORE RANGES

COURSE ELIGIBILITY

1-199

CHNS 1011: Elementary Chinese I

200+CHNS 1012: Elementary Chinese II

French 

SCORE RANGES

COURSE ELIGIBILITY

1-229FREN 1011: Elementary French I
230-400FREN 1012: Elementary French II or
FREN 1021: Beginning French Conversation II
401-599FREN 2011: Intermediate French I
600-799FREN 2012: Intermediate French II
800-1000FREN 2030: Intermediate French Composition I

German 

SCORE RANGES

COURSE ELIGIBILITY

1-249

GERM 1011: Elementary German I

250-400GERM 1012: Elementary German II
401-649GERM 2011: Intermediate German I
650-1000GERM 2012: Intermediate German II

Italian 

SCORE RANGES

COURSE ELIGIBILITY

1-229

ITAL 1011: Elementary Italian I

230-400ITAL 1012: Elementary Italian II or
ITAL 1021: Beginning Conversation II
401-599ITAL 2011: Intermediate Italian I
600-799ITAL 2012: Intermediate Italian II
800-1000ITAL 2030: Intermediate Italian Composition I

Russian 

SCORE RANGES

COURSE ELIGIBILITY

1-199

RUSN 1011: Elementary Russian I

200+RUSN 1012: Elementary Russian II

Spanish

SCORE RANGES

COURSE ELIGIBILITY

1-229SPAN 1011: Elementary Spanish I or
SPAN 1013: Elementary Spanish I-II
230-400SPAN 1012: Elementary Spanish II or
SPAN 1014: Spanish for Health Personnel or
SPAN 1021: Beginning Spanish Conversation II
401-599SPAN 2010: Spanish for Heritage Speakers or
SPAN 2011: Intermediate Spanish I or
SPAN 2013: Intermediate Spanish I-II
600-799SPAN 2012: Intermediate Spanish II

800-950

SPAN 2030: Intermediate Spanish Composition I or
SPAN 2111: Advanced Spanish I
951+SPAN 2112 Advanced Spanish II

Students interested in Arabic or Japanese may be directed to complete alternative measures such as a writing sample and/or an oral interview.

Arabic
Prof. Driss Mellouk
dmellouk@housatonic.edu

Japanese
Prof. Yumi McCarthy
ymccarthy@norwalk.edu

Complete a Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Before enrolling in a course, you must be advised and may have to take our Languages and Cultures placement exam. Please select your home campus below to access and fill out the questionnaire connecting you with a Language and Cultures faculty or Guided Pathways advisor. Once submitted, you will receive an email indicating your next steps. If you have any additional questions, please contact your campus faculty or advisor listed below.

Contact

Emily Santaniello, M.Ed
Campus Advising Lead

Email: ESantaniello@Asnuntuck.edu
Phone: 860-253-3092

Asnuntuck Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Kyle Devlin
Interim Program Coordinator of ESOL, and Foreign Languages Assistant Professor of ESOL

Email: kdevlin@ccc.commnet.edu
Phone: 860-906-5243

LaTanya Sumlin
Interim Placement Testing Coordinator
Email: lsumlin@ccc.commnet.edu
Phone: 860-906-5089

Capital Languages and Cultures Questionnaire


Contact

Claudia Bedoya
Spanish and ESOL Professor

Email: cbedoya@gwcc.commnet.edu
Phone:203-285-2163

Laura Moncada
Guided Pathways Advisor

Email: lmoncada@gwcc.commnet.edu
Phone: 203-285-2485

Gateway Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Jamilet Ortiz
Professor of Spanish

Email: JOrtiz@housatonic.edu
Phone: 203-332-5141

Housatonic Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Heidi Campbell
Testing Specialist

Email: HCampbell@manchestercc.edu
Phone: 860-512-3595

Manchester Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Angelo Glaviano
Professor of Spanish, Italian, and French
Foreign Languages Department Chair

Email: AGlaviano@mxcc.edu
Phone: 860-343-5807

Evelyn Garcia
Guided Pathways Advisor

Email: EGarcia@mxcc.edu
Phone: 860-343-6940

Middlesex Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Dr. Angela Skyers
Guided Pathways Advisor

Email: ASkyers@nv.edu
Phone: 203-596-8649


Naugatuck Valley Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Rick J. Boger-Hawkins
Guided Pathways Advisor

Email: RBoger-Hawkins@nwcc.edu
Phone: 860-738-6307

Northwestern Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Andres Aluma-Cazorla
Professor of Spanish
Director of Foreign Languages

Email: AAluma-Cazorla@norwalk.edu
Phone: 203-857-7362

Genesis Mosquera
Guided Pathways Advisor
Email: GMosquera@norwalk.edu
Phone: 203-857-7156

Norwalk Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Elkin Espitia-Loaiza
Professor of Spanish and ESOL
ESOL Program Coordinator

Email: EEspitia-loaiza@qvcc.edu
Phone: 860-932-4155 and/or 860-336-0914

Andrea Hemmerich
Guided Pathways Lead
Email: ahemmerich@qvcc.edu
Phone: 860-932-4980

Quinebaug Valley Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Celeste Arrieta
Professor of Foreign Languages
Email: CArrieta@trcc.commnet.edu

Carolyn Prunier
Testing Coordinator
Email: CPrunier@threerivers.edu
Phone: 860-215-9318

Three Rivers Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Contact

Joseph Brockway
Spanish Professor
Email: JBrockway@tunxis.edu
Phone: 860-773-1641

Emily Melzen
Placement Testing Specialist
Email: EMelzen@tunxis.edu
Phone: 860-773-1535

Tunxis Languages and Cultures Questionnaire

Still have questions

Check out our FAQs page for answers!