Skip to main content

Four Connecticut State Community College students are among 213 Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) members named 2023 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars and will each receive $1,000 scholarships.  

The students are listed with their town of residence and CT State campus:

Carissa Cowette (Torrington) – CT State Tunxis, Farmington  

Max Czellecz (Rockfall) – CT State Middlesex, Middletown  

Carla Galaise (Torrington) –CT State Northwestern, Winsted  

Max Richardson (Groton) – CT State Three Rivers, Norwich 

 The Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program helps new Phi Theta Kappa members defray educational expenses while enrolled in associate degree programs. Scholars are encouraged to assume leadership roles by participating in PTK programs and are selected based on scholastic achievement, community service, and leadership potential. Nearly 1,100 applications were received. 

 PTK membership at CT State Community College is open to students who have completed a minimum of 12 semester hours of college courses with a minimum GPA of 3.4.   

Fall 2023 credit registration is in progress for the inaugural class of CT State Community College at its campuses statewide, with classes starting August 29.  

CT State campuses offer hundreds of associate degrees and certificates that prepare students for transfer to four-year degrees and transition into the workforce. Short-term career training certifications provide students with the skills needed to get a job or advance their career. Among these, five campuses of CT State currently offer academic honors programs for high-achieving students who wish to enrich their associate degree studies. Throughout the cohort-based program, honors students hone the leadership, academic and professional skills necessary for transfer and future academic and career success. For more information, visit 

About CT State    

With the merger of the 12 Connecticut community colleges on July 1, CT State Community College is now the largest community college in New England. CT State students will be able to apply once and take classes at any campus: Asnuntuck (Enfield), Capital (Hartford), Gateway (New Haven and North Haven), Housatonic (Bridgeport), Manchester, Middlesex (Middletown and Meriden), Naugatuck Valley (Waterbury and Danbury), Northwestern (Winsted), Norwalk, Quinebaug Valley (Danielson and Willimantic), Three Rivers (Norwich), and Tunxis (Farmington). CT State’s college office is located in New Britain.   

About PTK 

Phi Theta Kappa is among the largest honor societies recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The society is made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Learn more at